NZ Club Class National Gliding Championships Jan 2019

Taupo, Nova Zelandija,   27. januar 2019 – 09. februar 2019

Drama on the final day

Well - what a final day! It was a boomer day with some good climbs and some good speeds but also a good dose of drama. I did say a particular result was likely “barring the unexpected”, but unfortunately for some the unexpected was what we got. Tim got pinged for busting airspace which was enough to drop him from 1st to 8th for the day and from 1st to 2nd overall by just FOUR POINTS! So congratulations to Mike Strathern who flew consistently well to take the honours in the Club Class Nationals, backing up his win in the Central Plateau contest just a couple of months ago. 

Also featuring in the “unexpected” category was a certain local pilot who finished up in the Kinloch golf course. All good though - no holes in one glider!

In the MSC class Pat Dreissen had a good flight to win the day, but it was not quite enough to head off Sebastian Kawa for an overall win with Pat Dreissen a creditable second after taking into account the removal of each pilots worst day. Keith Essex came third. Congratulations!

So overall it has been a very successful contest with good weather and good racing as well as good experience gained by many. If there were any concerns, they would have to be around the continuing struggle to find enough volunteers for those all-important non-flying tasks that make all the difference to the success of the event. At times the Contest Director was having to run wings and other tasks which took him away from his primary role of keeping an overall perspective, which was not ideal, but we were lucky to have a CD who was prepared to do that. The volunteers who were there did a great job - let’s just hope the success of this contest  inspires a few more people to put their hand up for the next. Try it - you’ll like it!

Enough from me. It’s been fun. Over and out. 

Napisal: Hugh de Lautour dne 10. februar 2019 08:37.
Popravil: Hugh de Lautour dne 11. februar 2019 01:49.

Zadnji zmagovalec

1. Michael Strathern 100,91 km/h
2. Steve Wallace 99,95 km/h
3. Mark Wilson 100,74 km/h
Posodobljeno: 11. 02. 19 08:58
1. Patrick Driessen 130,10 km/h
2. Sebastian Kawa 127,13 km/h
3. Wardell & Terry 119,26 km/h
Posodobljeno: 11. 02. 19 23:35

Najnovejša naloga

Naloga 11, 9. feb. 2019
Razdalja naloge: 240,54 km  /  558,68 km  (358,32 km)
Trajanje naloge: 3:30:00
Posodobljeno: 9. 02. 19 08:16
Naloga 12, 9. feb. 2019
Razdalja naloge: 240,54 km  /  558,68 km  (358,32 km)
Trajanje naloge: 3:30:00
Posodobljeno: 9. 02. 19 08:15